



Report from the ASO AC

https://aso.icann.org/



ICANN | ASO

The ICANN ASO AC (Address Council)

Address Supporting Organization

Who is it?	The NRO Number Council	
What is it?	Number Resource Policy Advisory Body	
How is it Organized?	 15 Members [3 From Each Region] 2 Elected at Large 1 Appointed by RIR Board RIR & ICANN Observers 	
Term of Office?	Different for every RIR	
What Does it Do?	 Advise ICANN Board on Internet Numbers matters Global Policy Development Process Review Select ICANN Board Members (2, Seat 9 and 10) Select representatives to ICANN Bodies (i.e NomCom) 	
When Does It Meet?	Telephonic – Monthly F2F - Annually	



ICANN | ASO

Address Supporting Organization

2021 Address Council Members

REGION	Member	Term
AFRINC The Internet Numbers Registry for Africa	Wafa Dahmani Zaafouri* Mike Silber [Vice Chair] Saul Stein	Jan 2021 – Dec 2021 Jan 2020 – Dec 2022 Jan 2021 – Dec 2023
(::) APNIC	Shubam Saran Nicole Chan* Aftab Siddiqui	Jan 2021 – Dec 2022 Jan 2021 – Dec 2021 Jan 2020 – Dec 2021
ARIN American Registry for Internet Numbers	Kevin Blumberg* [Chair] Martin Hannigan Louie Lee	Jan 2021 – Dec 2023 Jan 2020 – Dec 2022 Jan 2019 – Dec 2021
lacnic	Esteban Lescano* Ricardo Patara Jorge Villa	Apr 2021 – Mar 2022 Jan 2019 – Dec 2021 Jan 2021 – Dec 2023
RIPE NCC RIPE NETWORK COORDINATION CENTRE	Hervé Clément* [Vice Chair] Nurani Nimpuno James Kennedy	Jan 2021 – Dec 2023 Jan 2019 – Dec 2021 Jun 2021 – Dec 2022

Last appointments

Dr Di Ma (APNIC)

Jan 2022 – Dec 2023

Chris Quesada (ARIN)

Jan 2022 - Dec 2024

Remark: The community appointed ASO AC members in the RIPE region also serve on the <u>IANA RC</u> (Nurani Nimpuno and James Kennedy)



ICANN ASO Address Supporting Organization

2021 ASO AC Participation Record

REGION	Member	Attendance (11 regular meetings + 3 special)
AFRINC The Internet Numbers Registry for Africa	Wafa Dahmani Zaafouri*	8 (out of 11)
	Mike Silber [Vice Chair]	10
	Saul Stein	12
(:) APNIC	Shubam Saran	12
	Nicole Chan*	14
	Aftab Siddiqui	10
ARIN American Registry for Internet Numbers	Kevin Blumberg* [Chair]	14
	Martin Hannigan	13
	Louie Lee	12
lacnic	Esteban Lescano*	13
	Ricardo Patara	14
	Jorge Villa	14

Hervé Clément*

Nurani Nimpuno

Filiz Yilmaz / James Kennedy



14

13

7 (out of 8) / 6 (out of 6)

Global Policy Development



- ASO AC members follow their respective RIR's policy forum for any proposed global policy
- There has been no global policy in the last years
- A dedicated ASO AC meeting occurred last October

2021 Policy Proposal Facilitator Team (PPFT)

- Wafa Dahmani (AfriNIC)
- Shubham Saran (APNIC)
- Martin Hannigan (ARIN)
- Esteban Lescano (LACNIC)
- Hervé Clément (RIPE NCC)



ASO AC Transparency



- Annual Face to Face meeting
 - OPEN to observers (except for discussion related to ICANN Board Elections)
 - Since 2020 the work has been taken place online next 2022 ICANN meeting will be virtual
- AC-DISCUSS mailing archive has OPEN public records
 - https://aso.icann.org/pipermail/ac-discuss/
- ASO AC Monthly Teleconference are OPEN to observers
 - Normally first Wednesday of the month a 12:00 PM UTC
 - 2021 Meeting Calendar https://aso.icann.org/aso-ac/meetings/aso-ac-meeting-schedule/



ASO AC Appointments



ASO AC Current Appointments

- Maemura Akinori
 - Seat 10 ICANN Board, 2019 2022 (from APNIC Region)
- Alan Barrett
 - Seat 9 ICANN Board, 2021 2024 (from AfriNIC Region)
- Brajesh Jain
 - ASO Representative in the ICANN NomCom 2022 term (from APNIC Region)

ASO AC 2022 Appointments

- Seat 10 ICANN Board selection is ongoing (cf. next slide)
 - Term 2022 2025 (AfriNIC region not eligible)



Seat 10 ICANN Board selection Timeline



- Nomination Phase: 15 September 2021 1st December 2021
- **Comments Phase:** 30 December 2021 30 March 2022

ICANN Due Diligence for nominated candidates

- Interview Phase: 29 January 2022 –30 March 2022
- Selection Phase (deliberation): 1st April 16 April 2022
- **Selection Phase (voting)**: 19 − 25 April 2022
- Announcement of selected candidate: around 30 April 2022



Questions?

